A legal divorce can quickly become complicated and expensive. This is especially the case if children are involved, if you have been married for a good length of time, if there are significant assets to divide up, and if you have a dispute with your spouse.
In fact, the state of Texas has the 5th highest average cost of divorce in the U.S., according to recent statistics published by USA Today. The average cost of a divorce with children is $23,500 and the average cost without children is $15,600.
But, not every divorce is the same. Some are much less complex. If you do not have complicated issues and you believe that your divorce will be straightforward, then you may want to know how much does a simple divorce cost in Texas? Let’s examine.
The Cost of a Simple Divorce in Texas
To start with, every divorce requires a filing fee with the county clerk in the county where you and your spouse reside. Each county in Texas has its own fee. The following are the base fees in the counties where I practice family law:
- Brazoria County: Divorce/annulment base fee of $288.
- Fort Bend County: Annulment or divorce with or without children base fee of $310.
- Harris County (without children): Divorce/annulment base filing fee of $293.
- Harris County (with children): base filing fee of $320.
The filing fee is the minimum amount you will need to pay for a divorce. If you believe that your divorce is very straightforward, then you can complete a set of divorce forms titled “Uncontested, No Minor Children, No Real Property.”
This is essentially a simple divorce or an uncontested divorce in Texas. To qualify for this type of divorce, you must meet the following criteria:
- You and your spouse do not have disagreements about any of these 10 issues.
- You and your spouse will agree on every issue in your divorce. (Or, you do not think your spouse will participate in the divorce process.)
- You or your spouse has lived in Texas for at least 6 months.
- You or your spouse has lived in the county where you are filing for divorce for at least 90 days.
If you do not meet these criteria, then you will need to go through the standard divorce process that will focus on diving up assets, determining custody of children through the marriage, and resolving common disputes.
However, if you believe that you and your spouse’s situation qualifies for a simple divorce in Texas, then you can proceed with finalizing a divorce in the county where you reside.
Regarding costs, since you already paid the base filing fee, the additional costs for your divorce will include court filing fees, basic attorney fees if you work with an attorney, and other miscellaneous costs to complete the process.
– Keep in mind that if you plan to remarry after the divorce is finalized, then you must wait 30 days until after the Final Decree of Divorce is signed. Otherwise, you could violate the original divorce order and create a situation where your new marriage is null and void.
Find Help from a Family Law Attorney with a Simple Divorce
Going through a divorce is difficult. Even if everything seems straightforward, you or your spouse might overlook a key detail that could cause issues with your divorce. As an attorney who practices family law exclusively, I can help ensure that you are protected and do not place yourself in a difficult situation.
If you are thinking about pursuing a simple divorce or an uncontested divorce in Texas, then give me a call to discuss your situation. I will help answer your questions, identify any complications, and help you work toward an informed decision about how to finalize the divorce.
Additionally, if you need representation, I can provide you with expert support navigating legal issues that come with a divorce.
If you live in Brazoria, Fort Bend, or Harris County, then contact my offices at 979-267-7660 or 281-944-548 to discuss your situation. I’ll provide you with the support you need going through a divorce.